MobileActive08 Reviews

Overall Ratings
The Conference Overall: has not yet been rated
The Sessions: 4.0 stars after 23 ratings
The Speakers: 4.0 stars after 26 ratings

RSS Feed RSS Feed

The Reviews

Show reviews about the conference overall
Show reviews about sessions

By: Mr. Thomas Mueller
on Apr 10 2009
at 08:52 AM EDT
3
good insight into marketing
A review of the session "Marketing Your Product"

nice session put together in the open space. thanks Trina
By: Werner van Staden
on Oct 25 2008
at 11:01 PM EDT
5
application platform landscape
A review of the session "Developing Mobile applications"

The session was useful for getting an overview of the mobile application platform arena - what's available, relative strengths and weaknesses as well as developer feedback.

Gary Marsden's extensive experience was an invaluable resource and attendees' experiences gave all a great insight into the field.

Glad I attended. Thanks to all!
By: Christelle Scharff
on Oct 23 2008
at 11:02 AM EDT
5
Marketing your product
A review of the session "Marketing Your Product"

Very good session that focused on the users' need and not on assumptions
By: Paul Cook
on Oct 15 2008
at 01:40 PM EDT
3
Brief summary
Contents of this discussion have probably been mostly subsumed by the open mobile consortium, bringing together various providers and systems for SMS and other messaging delivery.

Discussion covered mostly the need for a platform that is delivery method agnostic, and modular. SMS delivery is expensive, but everyone has it; alternatives such as MXit, other instant messengers, email, etc. are cheap but not universal. Message recipients should be able to subscribe to systems and receive messages over multiple channels.

Some discussion too about handset applications that provide very simple messaging, to replace SMS with a cheaper alternative. Such applications do exist, so it's often a question of sharing resources and knowledge.

MobileActive wiki and open mobile consortium will be excellent venues for sharing information, technology and experiences of message sending.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 14 2008
at 07:16 PM EDT
4
www.ngopulse.org = WOW WOW WOW!!!!
A review of the session "Reception and Launch Party"

After having whinged, found career opportunities, written editorial and comment pieces and issued press releases through sangonet.org.za I approached the launch of the new portal
with trepidation.,..........for someone that usually has a lot to say on a lot of issues I have only one thing to say about the new portal and that is AWESOME WORK GUYS!

Its moments like tonight that make me understand why I have remained in this sector for the last decade. Sangonets proffesionalism and ability to understand the needs of often
tech challenged NGO's is nothing short of an incentive to go on doing the work we do best,,,,that of bringing about social change.

Thank you to all of the team.!

THIS SESSION ONLY GOT FOUR STARS AND NOT FIVE THANKS TO THE ROWDY BUNCH AT THE BACK OF THE LAUNCH WHO SHOWED TOTAL DISRESPECT FOR THE HOSTS.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 14 2008
at 05:28 PM EDT
3
CROSS BORDER PARTNERSHIPS
One of the few orgs that use mobitech in a way that my org can apply on a realistic basis....so great partnerships created
By: Deb Levine
on Oct 14 2008
at 01:54 PM EDT
5
Brilliant framework for scale

This session rocked my world. Both theoretical and practical frameworks for bringing projects to scale. Best quote: technology is only 15%. Most interesting question: How can we create a mobile hub for sharing apps?
By: Ahmer Siddiqui
on Oct 14 2008
at 11:53 AM EDT
3
Rocking
A review of the session "Mobile Data Collection: Tools and Methods"

Really intersting to see how different people are using different technologies, keeping in mind the various technological and rgulatory impediments.

By: Paul Cook
on Oct 14 2008
at 08:57 AM EDT
4
Great project
A review of the session "Open Rosa mHealth in Tanzania"

Very useful presentation, and what looks like a fantastic project. Key to me is how careful the developers have been to study what community healthcare workers are currently doing. The mobile technology is being used to streamline the existing paper solutions, instead of requiring the workers to change their behaviour. I think this is really key for successful uptake.
By: Brenda Burrell
on Oct 14 2008
at 07:26 AM EDT
5
Just the depth I was looking for
A review of the session "Mobile Phones for Activism and Advocacy"

I came away from Nadal's presentation feeling both inspired and reassured. I had just been to two mini-talks and felt that they were far too superficial. I think it's important that we get to hear and learn from activists who are experienced and prepared enough to share in-depth case studies of their work.

Nadal did exactly this and I'm sure that his presentation has helped activists understand the full sweep of a campaign - wherein aspects such as membership building and marketing are integrated in the use of mobile activism.

--Bev Clark
By: Samantha Schwarer
on Oct 14 2008
at 07:11 AM EDT
4
Sharing ideas and experience
Toni was a great facilitor for what turned out to be a lively discussion. The main barrier we encountered was that we all had different ideas of what the 'mobile web' is. Some participants felt strongly that NGOs and governments need to develop sites and applications appropriate for cellphone browsing, others felt that there was more future in text (sms)-based campaigns. On the whole, there is a positive view of the potential of mobiles to convey information and useful tools to bottom-of-pyramid groups in developing countries. A really interesting session.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 14 2008
at 02:18 AM EDT
4
Value Added Options
This was one of the most practical session as it complemented the info gathered from the previous session and added a "final layer" to security of the initial application options.

One of the few sessions that addressed the gender dynamics of mobile technology use in social change. Great Session!
By: Ian Macdonald
on Oct 13 2008
at 02:53 PM EDT
5
Very interesting and useful
Very informed, passionate presenters. Practical, useful information.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 13 2008
at 02:15 PM EDT
3
LOGISTICS
A review of the session "Afternoon Break"

Two things............

Session seating would be great if it was horse...maybe next time :-)

Matthew rocks! Thanks for the Confabb help!!!!!!!!
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 13 2008
at 02:09 PM EDT
3
Ensuring Data Integrity through mobile use
A review of the session "Mobile Researcher"

This presentation demonstrated to us how we can enhance the integrity of the data obtained from our fieled workers and therefore make the valuable raw data that many NGO's DONT KNOW WHAT TO DO WITH (STATS, CASE STUDIES ETC) become more realistic and influence decision making and advocacy planning.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 13 2008
at 02:06 PM EDT
3
Using Mobile Tech to Save Lives
The struggle to increase uptake of and adherence to Antiretroviral Treatment is key and this presenation just brought it home that providing support to PLWHA is within reach.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 13 2008
at 07:35 AM EDT
5
People driven news
Great session, good case studies. The question though would be how we educate our communities on what is news - local (gossip , villiage events etc), news - national - police brutality, natural disasters , political violence etc) Then HOW is that news marketed? Introduced to Brite Kite!, have tried and logged on...gr8.
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 13 2008
at 07:13 AM EDT
5
RELEVANT RELEVANT RELEVANT
This service is like so many great ideas,,,,simple!
The fact that the service "piggy backs" on an existing service is GOLD! An opportunity really worth following up on........
By: Mr Tian Johnson
on Oct 13 2008
at 07:02 AM EDT
3
HIV Mobile Prevention Games
A review of the session "Games4Life: Mobile Games in AIDS Education"

This was a great review of the product. However the cost factor will remain an issue in SA. Perhaps it has potential of merging platforms with Mxit to address this?
By: Deb Levine
on Oct 08 2008
at 12:54 PM EDT
5
Showcase of Evaluated U.S. SMS Programs
Come see samples of 5-6 SMS text messaging programs designed and maintained by ISIS in the U.S. (HPV vaccine, Teen health, chlamydia screening, HIV prevention, dating violence prevention).

Discussions will be around feasibility of applying best practices learned in the U.S. through these programs to Latin American countries.
By: Deb Levine
on Oct 08 2008
at 12:52 PM EDT
5
Assessing Feasibility of Applying N. American Programs in Latin America
This session will highlight 5-6 SMS text messaging programs designed and maintained by ISIS. (HPV vaccine, Teen health, chlamydia screening, HIV prevention, dating violence prevention).

Discussions will be around feasibility of applying best practices learned in the U.S. through these programs to Latin American countries.
By: evan henshaw-plath
on Sep 25 2008
at 02:27 PM EDT
5
Building and using location based services on mobile phones
Well i'm the speaker, but i think it will go wonderfully.

83,648

conferences

Anyone can add a conference to our database. Add a Conference
testimonials
 I'm accountable for every penny spent on marketing now. After partnering with Confabb our attendance went up 15%, and revenue was up 20% 

Bradley Kearsley, CMO

Ruby on Rails Hosting by Engine Yard